gervirginia.blogg.se

Strawberry opera cake
Strawberry opera cake





In my defense, I was scanning the recipe and say 1 cup ground almonds, 1 cup icing sugar….1 something cocoa powder, which I mistakenly assumed was 1 cup.įortunately I hadn’t added the flour yet, which I then omitted, crossing my fingers that everything would turn out alright. And I added the cocoa powder to my stand mixer set on medium before I realized the mistake so there was no going back. ….and added 1 cup of cocoa powder instead of 1 tablespoon….

strawberry opera cake strawberry opera cake

Layers of chocolate almond joconde separate coffee buttercream and chocolate ganache. The two star flavors of this–and every–opera cake are chocolate and coffee. I feel a bit like I am deceiving readers/viewers because the roses have nothing to do with the cake flavor, and were just tossed on spur of the moment for extra color and texture (though I have to say I am now inspired to make an ‘opera’ cake infused with rose flavor). Maybe its because I put together the cake while there was still natural sunlight pouring through my window, maybe its because I got a new (and much nicer) camera for Christmas, and maybe its because the color contrast was perfect, but I just adore the visual and all the pictures of this cake. Quality baking is definitely addicting, and now that I have created the masterpiece that is the Opera Cake, I am jonesing for another baking fix. And fortunately or unfortunately I am beginning to once again vividly remember how much I love spending hours or days in the kitchen, slaving away over what ends up being a 7-inch cake that is devoured in what feels like seconds.

strawberry opera cake

The stress-induced baking dry spell I had been in has been lifted.







Strawberry opera cake